Analog Active Crossover PCB

Status
This old topic is closed. If you want to reopen this topic, contact a moderator using the "Report Post" button.
Full disclosure: I'm an applications engineer for Texas Instruments Precision Analog

I've recently published a reference design for an active crossover for two-way loudspeakers. The design incorporates 4th-order Linkwitz-Riley filters, a 3rd order allpass section for tweeter time alignment, and a shelving circuit for baffle step compensation. It can be a very versatile PCB for active crossovers.

The PCB gerbers are available in the design file and can be submitted to the manufacturer of your choice. The design file also includes schematics, simulation files, and a software install file. The op amps I used for the design (OPA1602 and OPA1604) can be sampled for free as well.

The page for the design is here: Analog, Active Crossover Circuit for Two-Way Loudspeakers - TIPD134 - TI Tool Folder

The design document can be downloaded here: http://www.ti.com/lit/pdf/tidu035

PCB Gerbers and other files: http://www.ti.com/lit/zip/tidc033

I apologize in advance if this violates the forum policies, because the document and PCB files may be useful to hobbyists I was hoping this post wouldn't be viewed as overtly commercial.

Here's a picture of the PCB:

Attachments

• PCB.PNG
    PCB.PNG
    251.1 KB · Views: 1,673
This is a nice design. Unfortunately, it is more or less limited to those drivers it was designed for or very similar driver. Other drivers might have sufficiently different response and z-offset that the crossover might not work very well. Because the implementation of the circuit uses SMD devices, the DIYer would not easily be able to modify all of the components to change crossover corner frequencies and delay. Otherwise, I like it.