Help Designing Preamp Schematic

Status
This old topic is closed. If you want to reopen this topic, contact a moderator using the "Report Post" button.
I'm trying to build a simple preamplifier that can be switched between passive, unity gain buffered and +6dB modes.

I am very new to all this, so could somebody with more experience have a look and tell me what can be improved? (And if it will even work?!)

I've used an AD797 for the input, with RL1 selecting between unity gain and +6dB. This opamp stage can be bypassed altogether with RL2.
The output buffer is based on the the DC B1. This stage can also be bypassed RL3.

I have some specific questions:

1. I've calculated C1 & R1, and R2 & C2 to give -3dB at 1.59 Hz and 79.57 KHz respectively. Have I done this correctly? Do I need a resistor to ground before C1? How else can this area be improved?

2. I'm not sure about R5. The data sheet recommends 600 ohms, but obviously switching RL1 would cause this value to drop to 375 ohms. What 1K be better here?

3. Does the combined value of R3 and R4 have any significance (what's the difference between 3K and 1K vs 30K and 10K?)

4. My understanding is that the output buffer can be run without coupling caps (as with the DCB1), but since the opamp has gain, a DC blocking input cap is required. Is this correct?

Any help offered would be much appreciated!

Attachments

• prempschematic.jpg
    prempschematic.jpg
    92.2 KB · Views: 295
Why do you want to bypass the B1 output buffer, it only has a gain of ~1, the relay contacts only add an additional source of possible noise.

Unless you are lucky you could also end up with some "Woofer Busting" thumps when Relay 2 switches.

As you already have C1 at the input of the op-amp, I would consider a 10uF Polyprop (or better) at the output of the op-amp.

Last edited:
2. I'm not sure about R5. The data sheet recommends 600 ohms, but obviously switching RL1 would cause this value to drop to 375 ohms. What 1K be better here?