Technics - 9020 Peak/Average Meter Unit - Left Meter Issues

Hi all,

I have a Technics 9020 with a "stuck" left meter. The right channel meter works perfectly.

I am a novice on electronics of any kind, and beyond having a multimeter and a chopstick for poking at stuff, have no diagnostic abilities.

As soon as the protection relay clicks on, the left meter will jump to the -20dB hash and stay there, descending very slowly to the 0 rest after ~15 - 20 minutes.
j7QmPMp.jpg

If it is fed any signal, it will not descend to 0, but rather to the max level of whatever it's being fed.

If I turn it off, even for an instant, it exhibits the same symptoms as before.

STEPS 1 - 5
I've checked the operation points per the below and all are now within spec after warmup (some were slightly off initially).
YQiIbB2.jpg

STEPS 6-9
Using a laptop, a YouTube 1Khz test tone, and the R meter as a guide, I tried to calibrate the L meter per the below, and noted that VR201, 203, and 205, and 211 will not adjust the L meter's behavior. Note that adjusting logarithmic amplifier using VR201 in Step 2 works fine, but does nothing to adjust the -50dB level alignment in Step 7.
WkMzteB.jpg

Any advice welcome. Thank you very much!

Yeah, the HOLD function is supposed to max out at ~25 minutes which I don't think is a coincidence. So I assume the fault is somewhere in the PEAK HOLD circuit, or somewhere around it?
When performing Step 3(1), the L meter returns to zero upon the test point getting shorted to the chassis.

If the R meter works okay, compare the voltages at 409 and 410. They should be the same.

With the above in mind, make sure the mode select switch (peak hold/peak/average) S5-4 (S5-5) and S5-3 (S5-2 and S5-1) work okay - that they are not dirty. Flick it a few times and see if there's any change.

Also, confirm that both set of contacts (relay 2) work; that they close and open together.