diyAudio

diyAudio (http://www.diyaudio.com/forums/)
-   Tubes / Valves (http://www.diyaudio.com/forums/tubes-valves/)
-   -   GU-50 in Single-Ended Triode Configuration - What bias points? (http://www.diyaudio.com/forums/tubes-valves/175990-gu-50-single-ended-triode-configuration-what-bias-points.html)

quikie22 25th October 2010 12:27 PM

GU-50 in Single-Ended Triode Configuration - What bias points?

Hi all audio fanatic friends,

This may be a silly question, so please forgive me for asking as I am still a NEWBIE to tube amps

I have constructed an RH84 amp with the 12AT7 and 6P14P (Russian EL84 equivalent) in triode mode and find the sound really nice.

As my next project, I want to make a similar circuit (ie Single-ended pentode in Triode mode) but using GU-50 tubes as the output tubes for more power.

Has anyone made a similar set-up with GU-50 in triode mode? Assuming I want to use a B+ of around 700-800 Volts, what would be a suitable bias current be? Any suggestions for cathode resistor values and suitable OPT primary impedances to use? Any role for LED biasing as in the Red Light District (RLD)? I will most likely use the James 6123HS OPT as this is an affordable and acceptable quality OPT in my region.

Thanks in advance.

Sid

quikie22 25th October 2010 01:22 PM

Come on guys, I know you have some thoughts. Please help....

azazello 25th October 2010 03:03 PM

I made few years ago SE GU50 with +B=300v and fixed bias was around -40 v,
Ia=95 ma.
Cathode to ground, second and third grid to plate.
Maybe bias in Your ampl. will be 70-80-90 v....
I used 5 kohm Hammond 125 FSE.

ErikdeBest 25th October 2010 03:44 PM

Well, from what you describe you have got no clue about the original purposes of the RH84 circuit: you should, in fact, run the output tube in pentode mode as to obtain more power! Anyway, a GU50 in triode may sound nice as well, and there are even curves for this tube wired in triode mode: you can start from there!
DIY Audio Blog