What splitter for this design ? - diyAudio
Go Back   Home > Forums > Amplifiers > Tubes / Valves

Tubes / Valves All about our sweet vacuum tubes :) Threads about Musical Instrument Amps of all kinds should be in the Instruments & Amps forum

Please consider donating to help us continue to serve you.

Ads on/off / Custom Title / More PMs / More album space / Advanced printing & mass image saving

Old 21st December 2008, 07:28 PM   #1
Jaap is offline Jaap  Netherlands
diyAudio Member

Default What splitter for this design ?

I like to try this design (see picture, comes from Glass Audio). The question is what splitter will perform good at the front of it. I need some gain because my tweaked cd-player has a weak signal (less than 2 volts). I am not good at tube theory so I need something I can copy easily.

I like to use the ecc40 (is like a e80cc) but other options are also possible (ef86, 12hg7, 5842, 6c45, 6h30, 2c51, 76, 6n1p, 6n6p, D3a, etc.).

I am thinking about transformer splitting (I have a cinemag) and then a differential stage. Or perhaps a LTP with ccs under it or a tube followed by a concertina splitter. Any suggestions or suitable designs that fit before this:
Attached Images
File Type: jpg el34_6cb6a.jpg (56.1 KB, 780 views)
Old 21st December 2008, 08:30 PM   #2
diyAudio Member

It takes a very good (read expensive) transformer to perform step up duties. This is because they are intriniscally high capacitance items. Fortunately an input transformer is about the easiest position to drive so you may get away with a 1:1+1 input transformer.
A CCS LTP driver stage, driven from only one input can only ever achieve half the Mu of the input valve. However you could put a transformer infront and drive both inputs of the LTP and so achieve the whole Mu of the triode.

Another thing to consider is creating a Pentode LTP at the front which would give you massive gain.