• Disclaimer: This Vendor's Forum is a paid-for commercial area. Unlike the rest of diyAudio, the Vendor has complete control of what may or may not be posted in this forum. If you wish to discuss technical matters outside the bounds of what is permitted by the Vendor, please use the non-commercial areas of diyAudio to do so.

Tubelab Simple SE - fuse blowing

Status
This old topic is closed. If you want to reopen this topic, contact a moderator using the "Report Post" button.
Hi everyone, I have been reading these forums for a while now, and decided to have a go at building an amp.

I chose to build a Tubelab simple SE which I have just about completed a , but am have some trouble with fuses blowing.

I am quite new at this so need a bit of guidance!

The configuration is as follows:

Hammond 374BX Power transformer (we have 230V mains here) Hammond 193H 5H 200ma Choke
80 UF 500volt motor run cap (not installed yet)
Edcor GXSE15-8-5k output transformers

RCA 6L6 output tubes (they are metal case type for testing etc)
GE ECC81
and a Zeninth "5U4GB" rectifier tube (have not been able to get a 5AR4 locally yet which doesn't break the bank!) I understand the 5U4GB is ok in this design.

It is wired up for Triode, and no feedback at this stage.

I have built the PC board up using the standard components on Georges web site.

Photos below.

http://i581.photobucket.com/albums/ss260/afrench034/Top.jpg

http://i581.photobucket.com/albums/ss260/afrench034/Under.jpg

http://i581.photobucket.com/albums/ss260/afrench034/front.jpg

I fired it up for the first time last night, and although it only worked on one channel it sounded great. I started looking for any lose connections etc and after about 10min of checking, and switching it back on a few of times the fuse went. (I am using a 1amp fast blow as recommended by George). There was a faint smell of burning to.

Now it blows instantly when i switch it on. I can't see anything obviously burnt of incorrectly connected.