John Curl's Blowtorch preamplifier part II

Status
Not open for further replies.
Ken, what part of "The problem, to me, in double blind testing, even in my own environment, is that most differences do disappear" is unclear to you?

What exactly is leftover when you subtract "most differences" from all differences?

-

How about a sighted test with two pairs of expensive and non-expensive components--switch "nameplates" between one of each?

Last edited:
I wonder if all the talk of 'Listening Test' and DBTs is getting us confused to the purpose of doing the tests.

I am entirely unable to perform competitive listening, or 'decide the champion amplifier', -- listening only works if I'm relaxed enough to enjoy the Music as a pleasure.

It might take all evening to decide about some little change to a design, but that's OK, I listen critically only to improve what I do, not to claim my design surpasses someone else's.

As a designer, I am content with the process, and believe that my results move forward. Now & again, I get a second opinion to make sure my long term reference does not drift too far from natural sound.

But I understand why one would not wish to get involved in competitions of this kind.

Double blind testing appears to set the listener into a different mode of listening than more open listening. I think this is a left brain-right brain switchover that has been shown to happen visually, in being not being able to draw pictures, by people not trained as artists, even when their mechanical skills are adequate. Training people to draw, means that their right brain has to be more utilized. I think it is the same in listening. Direct comparisons seem to obscure differences. Listening in a relaxed environment seems to bring out differences, that once noted, remain, even years later.

What exactly is leftover when you subtract "most differences" from all differences?

Clark's frequency response threshold curves?