TH-18 Flat to 35hz! (Xoc1's design) - Page 115 - diyAudio
Go Back   Home > Forums > Loudspeakers > Subwoofers

Please consider donating to help us continue to serve you.

Ads on/off / Custom Title / More PMs / More album space / Advanced printing & mass image saving

Old 14th October 2012, 07:11 AM   #1141
diyAudio Member

Hi rpowell,
I have heard a rumor that a new design will be put up,but no you haven't missed it ,This cab I built I did with some help from everyone here's Ideas ,I am learning hornresp ,I used a protractor and made the curves,each turn gets about 10% bigger,I used 400mm lenght for the part#10 ,If someone would like to run it in hornresp I would like to see how close it is,
It got to Play music tonight but the cone is stiff ,but it sounded good ,I am new to rew but what I did run looked reasonably flat and no big bumps or dips,I was happy with it ,bass filled the room EZ,I have 2 more stiffeners and the broom stick to put in tomorrow,
Regards
NS

Last edited by noSmoking; 14th October 2012 at 07:15 AM. Reason: speller
Old 14th October 2012, 11:47 PM   #1142
diyAudio Member

Does the 1st TH-18 have a 3:1 compression ratio and 2nd version a 2.5:1? Am I remembering (somewhat) correctly?
Old 15th October 2012, 04:33 AM   #1143
diyAudio Member

Hi CRESCENDO,
I think that is correct,I didn't do these in hornresp,Trail and error,Djim helped me along with those he might be able to give some more exact figures on hows and whys,
The first one is breaking in and starts coming on at 20HZ or so,The second one is not broke in and starts about 40 hz but I think that will change as it loosens up some ,
I was wondering if you would post what you did for horn correction,I would like to see! I hope to make some measurements with REW tomorrow ,I don't have any plans but to run them,,,I hope ,lol.
Regards,
NS

Last edited by noSmoking; 15th October 2012 at 04:39 AM.
Old 15th October 2012, 08:55 AM   #1144
diyAudio Member

Quote:
Originally Posted by noSmoking View Post