First Subwoofer Done (Over the Top) - Pics from Start to Finish [56k Unfriendly] - diyAudio
Go Back   Home > Forums > Loudspeakers > Subwoofers

Please consider donating to help us continue to serve you.

Ads on/off / Custom Title / More PMs / More album space / Advanced printing & mass image saving

Old 8th January 2010, 07:24 PM   #1
diyAudio Member

Send a message via AIM to bmwman91
Default First Subwoofer Done (Over the Top) - Pics from Start to Finish [56k Unfriendly]

After building my first pair of speakers, I was very happy. Since I had put a fair amount of thought into the enclosure design, they produced a respectable amount of bass for their size. However, I always knew that I would want a subwoofer at some point. So, one day I started playing with ideas and testing out various subwoofers in WinISD. My main criteria was flat response down to 20Hz (no less than -1dB). The primary constraint was that no side could exceed 24". This was both for purposes of practicality, and due to the fact that MDF only comes in 24" increments. There was no way I would build a) a subwoofer of 48" in any dimension, or cut 32" out of a 48" piece & throw it away (wasteful!).

The box was constructed from:
- 1" MDF (walls)
- 0.5" MDF (shelf bracing)
- 4" ID ABS drainage pipe
- 0.75" MDF (port flare)
- Damplifier butyl rubber / aluminum foil deadening (walls)
- 0.125" closed cell foam sheets (walls)
- 1.5" open-celled acoustic foam (walls)
- Solid red oak (legs)
- Solid red oak & veneered plywood (base)
- All MDF joints Gorilla glued & screwed
- Various hardware to attach base & driver