First Subwoofer Done (Over the Top) - Pics from Start to Finish [56k Unfriendly]

Status
This old topic is closed. If you want to reopen this topic, contact a moderator using the "Report Post" button.
After building my first pair of speakers, I was very happy. Since I had put a fair amount of thought into the enclosure design, they produced a respectable amount of bass for their size. However, I always knew that I would want a subwoofer at some point. So, one day I started playing with ideas and testing out various subwoofers in WinISD. My main criteria was flat response down to 20Hz (no less than -1dB). The primary constraint was that no side could exceed 24". This was both for purposes of practicality, and due to the fact that MDF only comes in 24" increments. There was no way I would build a) a subwoofer of 48" in any dimension, or cut 32" out of a 48" piece & throw it away (wasteful!).

The box was constructed from:
- 1" MDF (walls)
- 0.5" MDF (shelf bracing)
- 4" ID ABS drainage pipe
- 0.75" MDF (port flare)
- Damplifier butyl rubber / aluminum foil deadening (walls)
- 0.125" closed cell foam sheets (walls)
- 1.5" open-celled acoustic foam (walls)
- Solid red oak (legs)
- Solid red oak & veneered plywood (base)
- All MDF joints Gorilla glued & screwed
- Various hardware to attach base & driver

Since I wanted flat response down to 20Hz, that basically ruled out a sealed box. While ported enclosures have less desirable group delay properties, and you need to be careful about running signals below the tuning frequency, they can deliver what I want. I selected a subwoofer with above-average excursion, you know, just in case I ever watch a movie with an earthquake scene! I seriously doubt that I will be running much of anything below the tuning frequency (19Hz) except a test signal. The driver I opted for was the Tang-Band WQ1858.