Troubleshooting stereo amplifier

Status
This old topic is closed. If you want to reopen this topic, contact a moderator using the "Report Post" button.
Hey,
I have a vintage 70s home stereo amplifier with built in preamplifier and FM tuner/receiver.

Problem with the amp is: left channel is weaker than right channel, moreover there's loss of bass too. Problems concern only the left channel, since right sound pretty much fine to me.

I'm an absolute beginner as an electrician, but with the help of several discussion topics and online guides to stereo repairs I have managed to revive some of the left channel, by recapping a few on preamplifier board. Now left channel have perhaps half of the power present on right channel. Balance control among other controls responds well.

I have used DMM and a extremely simple oscilloscope put together from old headphones to track down the possible culprits.

Now I'm pondering on whether I should just recap the whole left channel on the preamp and amp boards totally without any more testing, since it takes time as I'm no professional on this. I have detected that the voltages on preamp board (audio) exit points for left and right channel to amp board have about the difference you hear on the speakers, so I should focus on the preamp board alone? Makes me curious also, if the culprit could still be on the amp board and low voltage reverts back to preamp board exit points, is this possible?

Are there any other components apart from caps that may lead to loss of power on audio channel?

I know from the several guides that I should always pop out component from a pcb to accomplish a reliable test, but is it possible that on the board component resistance is the same on the both channels circuits, but component could be still broken?

Tips are appreciated :)

Administrator
Joined 2007
Paid Member
You need to do more conclusive tesing than replacing parts in hope. The problem could be physical, a problem control, switch or pot.