Power supply problem???

Status
This old topic is closed. If you want to reopen this topic, contact a moderator using the "Report Post" button.
Just another Moderator
Joined 2003
Paid Member
OK I finally got around to testing the ripple on my Amps psu. I built a sound card pre-amp, and downloaded the freeware version of TrueRTA. What I see worries me somewhat!!! It looks real nasty!!!

So the question is: Is this real bad, and if so Is it likely my filter caps are cactus? There is 16,000uF capacitance on each rail, 2 X 8000uF.

Ive attached some screen dumps of what I saw in TrueRTA.

It's obvious to me the problem is at 50Hz which is what I would have expected, but the amplitude (around 100mv) seems a tad excessive, also the shape of the wave form is pretty weird, and seems to be mirrored +ve to -ve rail. BTW I have never used a scope before so wasn't sure what to expect!

The positive rail is the upper image and the negative rail the lower.

Regards,

Tony.

Attachments

• measurements.jpg
    measurements.jpg
    89.6 KB · Views: 576
Just another Moderator
Joined 2003
Paid Member
The measurements were taken with zero load (well 100ma quiesient current on the output transistors.

Here is the schematic. It's as basic as you can get, a metal can Bridge rectifier and some filter caps. The secondary 15V winding, and subsequent voltage regulators are fine, less than .5mv ripple, difficult to tell as the sound card has a bit of noise at that low a level. Note that the output voltage shown on the schematic is too high and is really around +- 63V.

The PSU drives two channels of my 100W Mosfet amp.

Regarding the 50Hz, is it supposed to be higher with full wave bridge rectififcation??? I just assumed that because the 240V was 50Hz, that would be the freq of the ripple.

Regards,

Tony.

edit: Forgot to mention the amp is 16 years old!

Attachments

• psu.jpg
    psu.jpg
    70.4 KB · Views: 559
Psu

Hi,