SYMEF amplifier

@pinnocchio

Does the amp generate much heat?

Regards

indeed it does... I have type 1 Symef PCB and for testing purposes I stacked both boards on a HeatsinkUSA 10.080 4" heatsink and it reaches 50+ Celcius... I put in a fan on the back and stays at 30 Celcius. With only one module the heatsink reaches about 35 Celcius at idle. Trust me, those heatsinks are 3/8" thick and fins are 2" long, so yes the amp runs hot even at idle. But on the other side, it sounds quite nice.

My supplied voltage is around 43-44Vdc. Also not that on the type 1 PCB the drivers are on the heatsink.

Ciao!
Do

Last edited:
Hello Mr. OnAudio,
I am new to this thread,some questions, hope you don't mind answering.Can we attach more pairs o f 5200 and 1943 in output , how many,and can to amplifiers be bridged and with which good bridge circuit,i have gone through all pages and downloaded all files, will you be kind enough to post once again final,schematic,top view and copper side,
warm regards

I finally did most of the burn in and decided to hook it up to my DCB1, Wolfson DAC and Astasia speakers. I'm really impressed by the musicality of this amp and the overal tonal balance. Female voice are really well rendered. Lots of breathing room between instrument and the soundstage has a very good width but maybe not as deep as my ML-2 or B24.

I might just go for the new version of the amp and see if there is improvement. Anyone can comment on the newest PCB design (sound signature)?

Thanks
Do

Hello Do,

It confirms my findings too. This has wonderful sonic signature, when I was powering up this amp, I've connected to Bookshelf's I built. Instantly I found this amp sounds different, and is wonderful. BTW what speakers you've tested this amplifier with? Probably SYMEF 2 sounds better than version 1, only PCB routing is different no circuit changes. I have version 2 board as well need to start collecting parts for that.

Thanks,