Can I have some help with my class A amplifier design?

Status
This old topic is closed. If you want to reopen this topic, contact a moderator using the "Report Post" button.
Hello all,

Please be gentle, my electronic knowledge is barely above high school level :)

Having built a pass clone and JLH I'm now trying to build a simple 2 stage mosfet class A amplifier of my own design. It will hopefully have a source follower output stage and a buffering and voltage amplifying input stage (common source). And for the fun of it I am trying to avoid global feedback, but I will add it if necessary.

This is my first attempt at designing anything myself and I have blatantly stolen Nelson Pass' Zen amplifier current source so I'm not claiming to be original.

I am trying to model the thing in LTSpice and you can see the model attached. Please note that the irf510s will not be used in practice - I will try to find something more suited to the job. These were all I could find in the standard LT spice parts library. Also the resistors on the input will be pots for adjustment of the operating point.

Anyway, I guess the first thing to ask is can you spot anything that is a glaring omission or circuit shortfall? Is this project worth following through or am I wasting my time?

Now for my main question. The problem I am having is that because the input fet is current sourced it has an extremely high gain and I get full voltage swing with only a few tenths of a volt input. Is there anything I can do to get around this, apart from add an impractically large source resistor, or is this just never going to work?

Any advice regarding the circuit design in general would be appreciated.

Greg.

Attachments

• mosamp.jpg
    mosamp.jpg
    137.3 KB · Views: 473
From your drawing, I'm assuming you're running this from a single rail of 56 Volts.
This means you're expecting to get a peak output voltage of something around 24 Volts.
Across an 8R load tht's a peak current of 3 Amps.