Bob Cordell's Power amplifier book

i built a lot of leach super amps on fairly large heat sinks, this my experiences with them...
i installed thermal cut-outs with about 85*C to switch on fans as needed, fins are running vertical...
this was in the mid 80's and now i am more into tubes than SS, but i am build a big one n the coming days...

Hi Ajt
Since you are into tube amp. Tube amp mostly are in the 40 to 50W range ( if that). Can you comment on the need of high power to cover the large transient signal in the program? Ostripper and a few others said they can hear a clear improvement after raising the rail voltage. I have no experience on this at all.

As you can see, I am confused between a large Class A region and sacrificing the peak power vs high peak power with high rail voltage and only have a small Class A region.

I have been on the tube side here before. I decided to go with the SS as my first amp. People on the tube side pretty much said 10W of true class A power is plenty. I have been holding onto this and try to design an amp that was only about 60 to 100W, but having 8 to 10W of pure class A region so in normal listening level, I stay in Class A 99.9% of the time.

What is your opinion? I really like to hear from you that have experience on both sides.

Last edited:
AX tech editor
Joined 2002
Paid Member
I don't think this is correct. The ThermalTrack diode is a separate chip, but it is placed on the same collector substrate as the power chip. The thermal impedance between the diode and the power silicon chip is much lower than the thermal impedance between the diode and the heatsink.

You can easily verify this (I did) by pulsing the ThermalTrack power device and measuring the diode response (direct bias voltage). If the power pulses are apart (say) 10 seconds or so, you can see the diode response following, while the heat sink remains pretty much at room temperature all along.