XSim free crossover designer

nastorrent,

You will get same effect place a 8 ohm resistor in series with the default 8 ohm driver, find attached 4 plus 16 ohm zma file, to get real precision its much better measure driver in real situation and free REW or ARTA can do this task.

Attachments

• Resistor_4_ohm.zip
    1.7 KB · Views: 115
  • Resistor_16_ohm.zip
    1.8 KB · Views: 62
Omnimic doesn't measure impedance (ZMA), its acoustic only.

The Dayton DATS system or the Woofer Testers (or using REW with some external parts) can get you an impedance measurement.

But to get the whole crossover fully optimal, you need both the acoustic response (with phase and proper delay relationships) and impedance. Using default impedances will get let you derive the old 'textbook' type crossovers, which are usually pretty crummy and won't be accurate but better probably than nothing.

Totally not related question!

Hello there. I am new to the this forum and I was routed here in my search for a mobile base audio measurement software. So my question is kind of not related to this posting.

I do speaker building for hobby and I have desktop based LMS and LEAP. However recently I have found the opportunity to carry on my readings in a very large carpeted church. Taking the desktop and everything associated with it is becoming burden sum. So I have been looking for a reliable measurement software that I could use with my laptop, external interface (Focus right scarlet) and could adapt to LMS's microphone another word it read the mic correction ASCII file provided by LMS.

I have researched and looked into so many applications and no success.

These are the list so you kindly do not recommend them;

Arta and Audio Tester. Both doing mostly FFT, very complicated setup and procedures and poor documentations.

I also have looked to REW and Omni Mic. the last one reads from CD and doesn't have a generator of it's own.