Spice simulation

Simulations can work well if you don't have a 'hidden schematic' in your design; that is, strays & parasitics that are enough of a problem to upset the apple cart but are not included in the sim. Models may have to be adjusted to fit the measured parameters of the components on hand, and Monte Carlo analysis can show up consequences of component variability.

Toshiba MOSFET models, Level 7

Seeking Spice expert advice :

I have a problem with some of the latest MOSFET models from Toshiba.
These are Level 7 models, with which I have no experience.
SSM6L09FU | MOSFETs | Toshiba Electronic Devices & Storage Corporation | Asia-English

When I put it in an *.asc file and tried to run, it returned an error message saying the Effective Channel Width <=0.
Could it be that some parameters in the model are not quite correct ?

Many thanks in advance,
Patrick

My first thoughts are that I doubt Toshiba have made an error, and it is more likely your simulator is not recognising Level 7. I'd have to check the level 7 parameters to find out if their files are wrong, but I note that the file is a subcircuit with MOSFet and diodes included.
Sometimes there are errors in the units - but again it would need a check against the parameter list of Level 7 to find out -most often basic units like meters for channel length are used, but in the past cm was also a standard.

AX tech editor
Joined 2002
Paid Member
Seeking Spice expert advice :

I have a problem with some of the latest MOSFET models from Toshiba.
These are Level 7 models, with which I have no experience.
SSM6L09FU | MOSFETs | Toshiba Electronic Devices & Storage Corporation | Asia-English

When I put it in an *.asc file and tried to run, it returned an error message saying the Effective Channel Width <=0.
Could it be that some parameters in the model are not quite correct ?

Many thanks in advance,
Patrick