• WARNING: Tube/Valve amplifiers use potentially LETHAL HIGH VOLTAGES.
    Building, troubleshooting and testing of these amplifiers should only be
    performed by someone who is thoroughly familiar with
    the safety precautions around high voltages.

Triode Trick

Status
This old topic is closed. If you want to reopen this topic, contact a moderator using the "Report Post" button.
Ex-Moderator
Joined 2004
An alternative to UL connection is not what is intended here. All he is saying is, if you want to connect a pentode/tetrode as a triode, it's better to do it his way. The arguments make sense to me, but how much better it will sound I wouldn't know.

Ah! now that I know the name for it I can find past refernces to it in here.

I had a quick search and found refs but nobody seems to have tried it and reported on the sonics. I'm only new to tubes & seem to be ploughing the same furrow many have before - Have I missed something?

Thanks
John

Hi,

I've incorporated this 'trick' in my el84 se and must say that it makes an excellent improvement. My grievances before the mod were a somewhat slow, romantic but also muddled sound lacking attack; after the mod the amp sounds much more detailed and tighter. I wouldn't consider building another triode-strapped amp without using the trick. BTW the schematic contains a few small errors, ask me if you're really interested than I'll take a peek into my amp and see how I did it. fwiw Eddie Vaughn made a few suggestions for optimising the circuit (he uses something similar in his carina), namely using 5,6V zeners IIRC (same number would do the job) + one 1000µF electrolytic instead of the two 470µ and resistors. He also explains the benefits on his website (think he calls it black box).

Simon

This is the schematic

Attachments

• wera.gif
    wera.gif
    21.2 KB · Views: 1,310
Hi,

to me, that doesn´t make much sense from a technical viewpoint: