Simplistic MosFET HV Shunt Regs

Hi there,
I'm planning to build one of these but,
I was thinking of replacing IXTP01N100D with IXTP3N100D2 (which is also cheaper and I have it on stock)
and 2SK117 with BSH111BKR (I have this in my stock)

Is this safe to do?
I only need 280Vdc but who knows what the future brings.
Regards,
Silviu

Last edited:
diyAudio Chief Moderator
Joined 2002
Paid Member
Hmm many pF and high Id(on) that IXYS. It will surely need >> Rs trimmer etc. to bring it down to mA level. Maybe different value gate stoppers too. It will show lower HF rejection ratio due to high Ciss pF no doubt. But it can work as a mA level CCS when biased as it should.

BSH111BKR is an enhancement mode mini MOSFET. Makes no replacement to that JFET. Try to get 2SK209GR or 2SK880GR which are SMD 2SK117GR equivalents.

newbie here, want to build 24V 5A vacuum tube power supply

i don't know if this is the right thread, please guide me to the right one if it's not.
I just built my first power amp(Amp Camp Amp) built my first power supply(UNIVERSAL PSU) from DIYaudio store. I was gifted big boxes of NOS tubes for the 40's 50's 60's all new in boxs. I have been cross ref all the numbers and just open one box seem to be all diode rectifiers,5U4GB,5R4GYB,5V4GA,5U4GTB,5V3,5Z3 ECT. My question is if I have the right tubes can I build a 24V 5A power supply for my Amp Camp Amp?. If so can someone point me to a page of a schematic or build guide for my power requirements. thank you.

I got the bug to build.

Joined 2009
Paid Member
Salas isn't enough a power transformer 230V 30VA primary and 150V 0.2A secondary for a CCS 50mA (30mA for load & 20mA for SSHV2) and B+ 150VDC at plate using OPT Edcor GXSE5-600-15K?

I ask because I set the CCS ok to 50mA but only reach 80VDC output?

R11 trimmer is 500R in place of 1K, can be the guilty?

Attached schematic.

Attachments

• 5687 headphone last mod Thorsten.jpg
    5687 headphone last mod Thorsten.jpg
    593.3 KB · Views: 318