Horn loaded electrostatic ?? - diyAudio
Go Back   Home > Forums > Loudspeakers > Planars & Exotics

Planars & Exotics ESL's, planars, and alternative technologies

Please consider donating to help us continue to serve you.

Ads on/off / Custom Title / More PMs / More album space / Advanced printing & mass image saving

Old 1st June 2011, 06:23 AM   #1
brsanko is offline brsanko  United States
diyAudio Member

Send a message via MSN to brsanko
Default Horn loaded electrostatic ??

I have been designing rear loaded and compound horns for several years now and experimenting with different drivers and observing what makes a driver well suited to a horn enclosure. The conclution I have come to is that the most important qualities are a lightweight diaphram with excellent control and damping characteristics. Which is what brought me to electrostatics. The diaphram is nearly weightless, and stiffness isn't really even an issue because the stators control the entire surface evenly. I can't help but wonder what could be done with a small circular electrostatic say 3" - 6" in diameter in a compound horn enclosure. I guess the biggest thing I'm wondering right now is how much can a electrostatic diaphram move before it gets distorted and how would one measure or determine the T/S parameters or whatever the equivalent information of such a speaker. Anyone with any information or suggestions please pitch in. I welcome information from everyone, but please don't tell me it can't be done and enumberate all the reasons it's a stupid idea. I tend to get defensive and upset by naysayers and have been banned for a few days more than once for telling people to shut up. Please feel free to contribute any facts or ideas you might have but if your goal is to tell me I'm wasting my time, don't waste yours.
Old 1st June 2011, 06:36 AM   #2
beun is offline beun  United States
diyAudio Member