Battery or Accu Power supply

Status
This old topic is closed. If you want to reopen this topic, contact a moderator using the "Report Post" button.
Hi all,

i hope that there is nothing about power supplies with CAR- batteries or accus.

I think at a 12, 0, 12 volt psu for ALEPH X.

i searched the forums, but found nothing.

I think that a big improvement of sound can be done with battery psu. Even more than with super expensive capacitors like RUBICON BLACK GATES.

Since i am no electronic expert i ask you all for schematics and suggestions. Why do one need in an accu psu such big capacitance?

When the accus are fully loaded, can one connect to an amp direct to the accu ore are the capacitors required anyway....

Regards,
Ralf

Is it wise to want to feed an amplifier that draws at least 4
amperes all the time with batteries?
You will have a lot of work when you need to recharge them
every few hours of playtime.
Even if you decided to come up with a circuit that will handle the
charge job, (which is not a trivial task), you will have to ask
yourself if it is worth all the extra trouble/expenses.
Especcially if you know that there is a real good alternative in the form of an isolation transformer.
If you are going to use batteries I would shure like to read your experiences with them.

Regards.

Two 12 volts Car batteries

Can make a VERY good Source of Current
for an AUDIO amplifier.
It is usual to eastimate, that you can USE
half of the nominal VAh.
So for a 60VAh, you can use 30VAh, before reload.

It is fully possible to RUN some time during day.
And RELOAD, While you are sleeping at night.

Say you have 2 amps, draws 2x2A= 4A
Your battery is rated 60VAh, use half 30VAh
30 Vah is consumed in: 30VAh/4A= 7,5 hours

So if you drive 7,5 Hours (use timer ON/OFF)
You have 16,5 hours for to Reload, each night

No 50 Hz ripple from batteries,
No Transformator
No Rectifier-bridgde
No disturbance from Mains crap