The Zenitron

Status
This old topic is closed. If you want to reopen this topic, contact a moderator using the "Report Post" button.
Joined 2002
Paid Member
Circlomanen, I've missed your posts as well.

What really appeals to me is because of the symmetry one channel could consists of two very small optimised pcbs, mounted back to back or even at right angles. Also, it means only half the design effort :D

Hope to hear more when you have the time. The kids are more important.

bummer!

THAT's truly terrible! :hot:

I've always feared that scenario and made up a resistive dummy load years ago that I still use religiously. Never did the light bulb trick with an audio amp, but that was my test load of choice when I was a young HAM Radio operator. Hadn't thought of it as a component of the output circuit until Nelson showed us the light [sorry, couldn't resist... oh no, double pun!]

In the words of someone wiser than I...
"I hate it when that happens."

My condolences, :bigeyes:

LarryO

Thanks Igo51!
The speaker survived but sounds a bit harsh nowdays. It is a very cheap litle thing built mainly as an experment. But I like it and a will probably buy a new set of woofers once the amp is up and running properly. Now I have installed a 47 ohms power resistor in series with the speaker so it should survive a couple of seconds longer when playing a 200 watt 100 hz squarewave.
I cant figure out why it misbehaves??? Any suggestions or ideas???

Circlomanen said:
<snip>I cant figure out why it misbehaves??? Any suggestions or ideas???

I don't recall if your PS is fully linear or regulated, but if the former then you might consider using a variac to control the mains voltage, ergo the PS output voltage, for inspection work.