Thermistor Location for F5 power supply

Status
This old topic is closed. If you want to reopen this topic, contact a moderator using the "Report Post" button.
Joined 2008
Paid Member
This is how i have done it. However I am a rookie at this so I would like to see other comments from experienced builders.
jim

Attachments

• DSCN3587Small.JPG
    DSCN3587Small.JPG
    125.2 KB · Views: 1,283
The power supply thermistors are not used for temperature sensing but for inrush current suppression. They limit surge current when powering up the amplifier by functioning as a power resistor which drops from a high cold resistance to a low hot resistance when heated by the current flowing through them. They do not need to be close to a source of heat.

I used this schematic, I wish I could give credit to whom it belongs. (I think it was Papa's from the F3 power supply) I just copied it. You are correct, if you have a different soft start circuit, you do not need the Themistors (in the startup circuitry).

Ron

Attachments

• F5 soft start.jpg
    F5 soft start.jpg
    294.1 KB · Views: 1,168
Additional question wrt thermistor and 240v transformer.

The PSU pic in the F5 doc that refers to 240v shows a dual 120v primary
(top part of pic)

An externally hosted image should be here but it was not working when we last tested it.

If I only have a single 240v primary, is my alternate position correct (bottom part of pic) or am I going for a Darwin award?

tia for any life saving comments anyone would like to offer, else I guess I'll find out when I power the PSU part up tomorrow ;-)

cheers
Nick