Speaker Workshop Help

Status
This old topic is closed. If you want to reopen this topic, contact a moderator using the "Report Post" button.
Im totally new to the DIY speaker scene, so I thought that I would use a program to help me figure out a nice xover. Im playing doing a MTW design with Seas M15CH-001 (mids) W22EX-001 (woofer) and Fostex FT33RP (tweeter). first off how do you guys think these 3 will go together? I am starting with a front L/R set to get my feet wet but will eventually be building all 7 channels for my HT and maybe a Sub after that. THe program that I found for free is Speaker Workshop, and Im having trouble setting up the parameters for these drivers. It is asking for informantion like the motor strength and voice coil series (L1) and these things are not listed here (http://www.oregondv.com/Seas_Speakers_M15CH-001_E016.htm) or anywhere else that I have found for that matter. are there some fomulas that I could use to find such things? and for the Fostex tweeter there is virtually no info availble that I have found for that other than the basics.

I guess my next question would be, am I on the right track by using this program? is there another you guys use or is it mostly trial and error to build a good box and xover?

I have confidence that once I have a solid design I can manufacture the speaker, I have the tools and the skills to do the phycisal building, its the design that is eating my lunch, as always.

Thanks for any information,

Gavin