What does a £10,000 speaker + Elco caps & cored inductors in $16,000 speakers ??

Status
This old topic is closed. If you want to reopen this topic, contact a moderator using the "Report Post" button.
Administrator
Joined 2004
Paid Member
It offers a good margin for the manufacturer, the distributer and the dealer! Everybody's got to eat. :D

Funny about the nearfield monitor tweeters at the mixing desk. I'm a live sound engineer and always found that studio guys mixed way too bright when they had to do it at a concert. They are so used to the details and finesse of those little nearfield monitors. You just don't get that in a big space, away from the speakers.

Easy, easy, guys :D No big deal.

I agree the footage is not complete, or even not very good. However, what do you expect to get from a 'newspaper' for ordinary readers (audience)?

Much worse information, or even plain lies are floating around in each and every possible media.

In this short video, at least you got viewpoints from recording engineer and speaker maker. The conclusion seems unclear for a whole picture, but "it is impossible to recreate the sound of an orchestra in your living room" should be quite clear. ;)

By contrast with those braggings of advertisements or blind reviews, this is almost lovely :D

Funny about the nearfield monitor tweeters at the mixing desk. I'm a live sound engineer and always found that studio guys mixed way too bright when they had to do it at a concert. They are so used to the details and finesse of those little nearfield monitors. You just don't get that in a big space, away from the speakers.

That's why in good old days Yamaha monitors had toilet paper on tweeters. It was like a fashion in studios worldwide.

I can't see it; my Gnome does not have a correct version of Flash Player, as the site suggests. :D

Last edited:
Ex-Moderator R.I.P.
Joined 2005
Hi,

Yes and its bleedingly obvious. Your listening room is not the Albert Hall.

rgds, sreten.