How to use Martin J. King's software to design a TL loudspeaker? - diyAudio
Go Back   Home > Forums > Loudspeakers > Multi-Way

Multi-Way Conventional loudspeakers with crossovers

Please consider donating to help us continue to serve you.

Ads on/off / Custom Title / More PMs / More album space / Advanced printing & mass image saving

Old 3rd April 2003, 06:43 PM   #1
Bricolo is offline Bricolo  France
diyAudio Member

Default How to use Martin J. King's software to design a TL loudspeaker?

Hi all

I've downloaded mathcad explorer (12Mb with my 56K, ouch!) and Martin King's transmission line models

But I don't know what to do with it. I entered the driver's characteristics, and the experimental dimentions of my project

But how do I use it to tune my tranmission line dimentions?
I look at the curves, but since I'm still a noob, I don't know what each curve mean
And the way they sould look, after having optimaly set my parameters.

Can someone help me?
Thanks

Alex
Old 3rd April 2003, 08:21 PM   #2
frugal-phile(tm)
diyAudio Moderator

Default Re: How to use Martin J. King's software to design a TL loudspeaker?

Quote:
Originally posted by Bricolo
But how do I use it to tune my tranmission line dimentions?
I look at the curves, but since I'm still a noob, I don't know what each curve mean
And the way they sould look, after having optimaly set my parameters.
I'm sure Martin will have more tips, but it involves playing with the box parameters and looking at the output... i tend yo primamrily look at the summed response (system response) trying to achieve a curve that is extended towards the bottom (and above the sealed box line, with little ripple. Once i get close i'll start paying attention to the phase characteristics and the impulse response.

dave
Old 4th April 2003, 12:25 AM   #3
MJK is offline MJK  United States
Account disabled at member's request