Piezo Film Buffer and Amp Combo for Guitar Electronics

Status
This old topic is closed. If you want to reopen this topic, contact a moderator using the "Report Post" button.
I'm a musician/composer/sound engineer type that sometimes delves into guitar electronics. I'm looking to further refine a circuit I have pieced together out of "found parts" online. I have managed to get a nice chunk of the circuit audibly working (and with enough volume), but there is, so far, too much noise in the signal, so I'm looking for quieter solutions. I also want to make sure the circuit is optimized (meaning, as safe and power efficient as possible) and to learn a few other control details like where to wire a high pass filter in the circuit.

The piezo sensors I have chosen are piezo film sensors (from Meas-Spec, basic DT Series). I've chosen piezo film over piezo buzzer elements due to piezo film's wide frequency range and lack of resonant frequency(s). I've wired three of these piezo film sensors in parallel and sandwiched them (spaced out such that each sensor is directly beneath two of the guitar strings) underneath the metal plate the bridge saddles sit on. For the sensors, I've used shielded cable and I've also grounded the bridge itself.

The link for the datasheet for the sensors is here:
DT Series?Piezo Sensors?Film Elements?Measurement Specialties

I want to make the circuit run off a single 9 volt. And I want to be able to install it inside my guitar, along with the magnetic pickup system. For now I am not going to bother trying to mix the two systems and I will simply have two output jacks, one for piezo, one for magnetic.

In order to buffer the piezo sensors I built a buffer circuit originally designed by Scott Helmke for bass but then adapted for guitar (see attachment 1):
http://www.diyguitarist.com/Guitars/PiezoBuffer.html
This makes the piezo sensors sound really quite good, but the level is much too low for my needs