lm 3915 vu meter problem.

Status
This old topic is closed. If you want to reopen this topic, contact a moderator using the "Report Post" button.
Hello everyone. So i started learning about electronics slowly, my physics knowledge is really bad but i hope i can fix that.
This is my second electronics project so i decided to do something cool... http://www.electro-tech-online.com/imgcache/8472-14.gif
I end up doing this, i have no idea how it works and i barely connected everything to my breadboard.
I use 9V power source
3,5V , 0,02A 10leds
10k potenciometer
and 1k(didint have 1,2k) resistor exactly as shown in the scheme.
everything seemed to work fine but when i play music only 5 or 6 leds are glowing and the last 4 are not doing anything ;/ Whats should be wrong?
I tryed to read lm3915 description but there is so much information my head almost blew up :/ there is no way i can understand something with brains like mine, so i hope u got some simple explanation how to fix that :)

Administrator
Joined 2007
Paid Member
Welcome to diyAudio :)

It sounds like you haven't enough signal to drive the device fully. Does altering the preset resistor in your diagram not give enough gain ?

For this to work best you really need another stage in front of this to condition the signal and detect and "hold on" to peaks so that the display becomes much slower and more readable. Applying AC (your audio) means the display is trying to respond to quickly and will be dim and poor in use.

Have you got the data sheet ? That shows a couple of very simple rectifiers, one using a transistor and one an opamp.

So what do u mean exactly.I posted the data sheet of mine. I played with pot but that didint help.. Setting it to max only 2-3 led glow and setting to 0 , 5 -6. One more interesting fact is that when i connect to resistor to pin 6 isntead of pin 7 all leds starts glowing to music but not good.. Some are bright and some are not bright at all.

Administrator
Joined 2007
Paid Member