Noisy neighbor problem

Status
This old topic is closed. If you want to reopen this topic, contact a moderator using the "Report Post" button.
My next door neighbor has a car stereo with a sub-woofer. He always plays it with the trunk fully open (where the sub-woofer is) and the car doors partially open. The sound level he plays it at usually not really something I could complain about but by the time the sound reaches my room I can only hear the bass notes. I find that so irritating.

I want to build a amplified sub-woofer and some way to reverse the phase of my speaker so it would cancel out the noise from my neighbor.

Any ideas?

Thanks for all the suggestions, even the humorous ones.:D

I still have my mind set on building a "Noise Cancellation" system but I'm not an engineer, I have some technical know-how like building amps and speakers but not how to design something from scratch.

Noise Cancelling Headphones are commonplace now, why not have a Noise Cancelling System?

Mouser offers parts for them: Audio Applications - Noise Cancellation

You can recognize the difference in scale between headphones being worn and the neighbor's car. You would need to capture the offending signal with a microphone, process it, and send it to a power amp and transducer. And even then, with a working model, I'd bet the results would be less than satisfactory. A bottomless R&D budget may not even be an answer. It'd probably be easier to build a pulse beam weapon that fried his electronic circuits.:)