Testing or Listening? :|: Split from Blowtorch II

Status
This old topic is closed. If you want to reopen this topic, contact a moderator using the "Report Post" button.
I almost never know the original, but I have some good experience of the sound of real instruments and the human voice. I acknowledge it is unlikely that we will ever approach perfect reproduction...that does not negate the huge progress we have made on the back of solid technical principles and measurements in more closely approximating that goal. You surely can't believe we would have reached the current state without the benefit of this technical, measurement based approach?

The progress was made by both measurements and listening.
Measurements alone fail to reveal everything pertaining to sound quality of reproduction system.

BTW, how do you choose loudspeakers to you system? By price and measurements only? Or do you also listen to them?

All sensory perception is an illusion, even live music. It's not reality-in-itself that enters our minds, it's the sensory-mental reflection of reality which is perceived by our minds.

However, when it comes to reproduced music, some systems create in the listener a perception which is closer to the perception of live music, closer than other systems. AFAIK, there is no music reproduction system that creates identical perception to live music. The question is how far, or how close, a system is, compared both to live music and to other systems.

Completely agree, all sensory perception is an illusion - a recreation in the mind of some nerve impulses that we assign meaning/pleasure to.
The second para of your answer, I agree with up to your last sentence. I would restate it "The question is how much a system gives us a pleasing illusion of an imagined event." Assigning any more significance to this illusion or trying to root it in some form of measurement "reality" is self-deception.