Drop in replacement for NE5532? - diyAudio
Go Back   Home > Forums > Source & Line > Digital Line Level
Home Forums Rules Articles The diyAudio Store Gallery Wiki Blogs Register Donations FAQ Calendar Community

Digital Line Level DACs, Digital Crossovers, Equalizers, etc.

Please consider donating to help us continue to serve you.

Ads on/off / Custom Title / More PMs / More album space / Advanced printing & mass image saving
Old 16th April 2011, 06:31 AM   #1
diyAudio Member

Default Drop in replacement for NE5532?

Can someone tell me what a better drop in replacement for the NE5532 might be? I got a DAC kit from China for really cheap and am putting it together. It uses the NE5532 opamp for output. It has the nice plug/receptacle on tue board that the NE5532 fits into so it could be easily pulled and switched. I am fairly new to DACs and opamps but have heard there are much better opamps than this one.
Thanks for your advice!
Jeff
Old 16th April 2011, 12:29 PM   #2
Mooly is offline Mooly  United Kingdom
diyAudio Moderator

Get it all working first and then I would suggest trying the OPA2604 and perhaps the LM4562.
OPA2604 is the most "coloured" sounding (in the nicest possible way) and the LM4562 probably the more clinical.
Old 16th April 2011, 04:41 PM   #3
diyAudio Member

Thanks Mooly, that's exactly what I was hoping to find. I will by both and give them both a try. What's your thoughts on the NE5532 that it comes with?
Old 16th April 2011, 05:13 PM   #4
diyAudio Member

Nothing wrong with those opamps either....
Old 16th April 2011, 05:47 PM   #5
Mooly is offline Mooly  United Kingdom
diyAudio Moderator

Thoughts... its very subjective really.

The OPA2064 is definitely more musical sounding in my experience compared to many others. It was designed (as of course were others) for audio and differs in that the distortion spectrum it produces has the even harmonics predominating. Which is what the ear likes.