PCM1704 or newer chips?

Status
This old topic is closed. If you want to reopen this topic, contact a moderator using the "Report Post" button.
Hi to everyone, i am considering building a 24/96 capable DAC.
I am not an expert in digital circuits, but if memory serves, back in the late 90s, everyone stated that R2R dacs are - technically speaking- superior to Delta-sigma designs.

Almost every expensive player-dac back then, used multibit dacs (exept from meridian, i think).

In the last 5 years, i have not seen a new chip of this sort, every new design is some kind of bit-stream architecture (i am aware of the difficulty and cost to built a good R2R dac).

Is the built of a DF1704/06 --> PCM1704 worth the extra effort (boards almost immposible to obtain-have to make my own) and cost?

For me, even small impovements in perfomance justify the cost/trouble overhead, but are the PCM1704 really (measurable) superior to newest Delta-sigma like PCM1794, wolfson, AKM designs (all other things considered equal, e.g best possible supllies, clocking, e.t.c for the chip of choice) ?

I am not talking about "sound", just about measuring better in the lab. I just want to have a top-notch piece of equipment.

Every answer from the digital experts hier would be much appreciated.

Greetings from Athens (Greece)

Konstantinos

P.S

Is it true, that Delta/sigma is inherently flawed, because it is impossible to operate at such a high clocking frequency, to fully compensate for the truncation of the 16-24 bits to just one?
Unfortunately i don't remeber where i found this statment, it is long ago..

Hello,

The only two chips I would use are the pcm1704 and the ESS sabre. The latter does delta-sigma in the best possible way, with the current technology, so it's worthy of recommendation.
The latest AKM dacs such as the 4397 should be very good sounding too, but very few people in the diy world uses them, so i cant be as sure.