USB based DAC project

Status
This old topic is closed. If you want to reopen this topic, contact a moderator using the "Report Post" button.
Hello everyone,

I am new to electronic design and I have to build an audio circuit for a college project.

I have to design and build a USB based hi-quality audio DAC.

After having a mini research I found the PCM2205 IC from Texas Instruments that does the whole job and more. I wouldn't like to use this IC though because it will be very easy. I may do it at the end but i would like to try to buid some of the part myself and not use one chip for the whole project.

I would like to find an appropriate USB module and build the DAC on my own(ideally).

Is the UM232R USB module appropriate for my project?http://www.ftdichip.com/FTProducts.htm
Can you suggest me any other way of interfacing a DAC to USB

I would really appreciate any help either on the USB part or on the DAC part of the circuit (part numbers, circuits, links, ...)

Thank you

I can't find any information on the PCM2205 IC, it's not listed on Texas Instruments website. That said, what you are going to want to do is get something like a PCM270x chip. This will act as the USB receiver, and it will output the I2S signal that many modern DACs use. After that, you've got a large number of options. Some good ones include the PCM1794/6/8. That is a pretty good one to go with because it has the digital filter uilt into it. If you use an older DAC, like say the PCM63, you will have to have a separate digital filter. If you wanted to go the NOS route, you could use the TDA1541A. I even believe I've seen some NONOS designs using the AD1865 chip.

But picking out the chips that you want to use is the easy part. You also have to work out the power supplies and voltage regulation, and then finally you have to do the schematic and the layout.

bluetech said:
Hello everyone,

I am new to electronic design and I have to build an audio circuit for a college project.