$30 amp upgraded

Status
This old topic is closed. If you want to reopen this topic, contact a moderator using the "Report Post" button.
I am looking to enter into the Class D (or Class T, whichever the case may be) realm... sound quality concerns me most. How does this amp compare to some others you've had experience with? Is it worth the time and effort to get it running "right"? Or should I just go out and buy an evaluation board and mess around with that?

needtubes,

Not being an engineer, I cant tell you if an eval board could offer much more in the way of sound quality or not. The SI board seems to be a minimalist design for the TA2024 and doesnt look like much but cap swapping is possible (other than the type of things Ive done) I can say that for $25 or so, you will get an extrodinary good amp value wise. Everyone that has heard mine has been shocked at the sound.

This amp should really be considered a 5 watter since the sound changes for the worst when heading toward double digit output. But at a few watts, the overall clarity is outstanding with a good soundstage.

My opinion is to let the engineers out there sort it out and in time, Im sure the sound will be improved. But for $25..... throw it away if you dont like it. But you will.

This weekend its getting the once over by my tube expert buddy. Hes had probably twenty over the years and will be a great judge of the sound. Horns of course, will be used.

I will report back.

amt

Anyone try conecting the input directly to the input pin on the chip.
I used a decent input cap and feedback resistors and got a much nicer sound out of the little guy. (replacing the conectors and pot goes without saying) ;)

I'd also like to replace the output inductors with something better. It needs a 10uH 25volt or so, but I cant find anything worth replacing it with.