LM4780 PCB Layout

Status
This old topic is closed. If you want to reopen this topic, contact a moderator using the "Report Post" button.
Hello guys,

I've been wanting to build an amp using the lm4780 chip for a while now and I finally have some free time so I searched for a good pcb layout and found this:
An externally hosted image should be here but it was not working when we last tested it.

in my opinion I think it looks solid but I'm not an expert so I'd like to hear your opinions on it and if the grounding is ok
I've also seen the one in the datasheet but its a double sided pcb and its harder to make so what do you think I should use the one above or the one from the datasheet?
Thanks.

Attachments

• Capture.PNG
    Capture.PNG
    88.9 KB · Views: 878
  • Capturepp.PNG
    Capturepp.PNG
    126.4 KB · Views: 885
Last edited:
Much better thanks!

A number of issues - first its not totally clear which GND point the trafo's CT is going to. Assuming its the one directly below the bridge, there's a problem with the speaker grounds. They share some copper with the main cap charging pulses. They need their own dedicated returns to the CT.

Second - the GNDs (very dirty ones) going to the main caps should not be reused for the mute cap. That really should come from signal GND.

Third - the track from the bridge's -ve output is a wicked noise source and should be kept right away from the output inductors. Suggest a wire on the top side to deal with this.

Much better thanks!

A number of issues - first its not totally clear which GND point the trafo's CT is going to. Assuming its the one directly below the bridge, there's a problem with the speaker grounds. They share some copper with the main cap charging pulses. They need their own dedicated returns to the CT.

Second - the GNDs (very dirty ones) going to the main caps should not be reused for the mute cap. That really should come from signal GND.