Which way to choose: Comparisons Chip/Class D/SE DHT ?

Status
This old topic is closed. If you want to reopen this topic, contact a moderator using the "Report Post" button.
Hello all chip amp devotees!

As my alias here on DIY Audio indicates, I'm an old believer in the special magick of Single Ended Direct Heated Triodes, - and especially the WE91 SE 300B with pentode driver.

Well ... As the heading suggests, I've gotten into severe doubts about what gives the best sound quality.

I have been designing loudspeakers as a "hobby" for near 17 years now. One of my friends and co-designers have developed several amplifiers. One is a 50W Class A battery-powered monster, designed along L'Audiphile 20w Le Classe A principles. His recent design is a thoroughly modified Ice Power amp. The sound is better than anything Jeff Rowland has made with Ice Power. This last amplifier represents my current reference, together with SE DHT amps. The problem with SE DHT is low wattage, problems with driving loudspeakers, lethal supply voltage and extremely high building costs.

In my poor contry where I live, I know of no one that has ever heard a Chip-amp/Gain Clone/Gain Card, thus I know of no amp to borrow either, and no way for me to know how such an amp sounds.

I have been staying up late, getting too little sleep - and sneaking peaks on special sites on the internet during working hours, reading about ... Chip amps. I have understood that they have made quite a stir, even among die hard SET people. I have even read a review comparing the 47 labs Gain Card to the Audio Note Kondo Ongaku :confused:
What makes matters worse is the relative low cost of building them and ease of servicing and implementing changes and modifications.

So, to the BIG question:
Has anybody compared good Chip-amps to really good Ice Power (Jeff Rowland) or good SET (preferably 300B, 2A3 or 45) amps?