Isopropyl Alcohol for Cleaning LPs

Status
This old topic is closed. If you want to reopen this topic, contact a moderator using the "Report Post" button.
I have read on numerous occasions that isopropyl alcohol is safe to use for cleaning LPs because it doesn't attack the plasticisers contained in vinyl (which apparently methyl and ethyl alcohol do).

However I remember reading a post from SY which contradicted this assertion (ie isopropyl is unsuitable for record cleaning). Not being a materials scientist I am now at a loss as to how to best clean my LPs, and what to do with the 4L of isopropyl I now have in my possession.

Last edited:
You could clean a sink with it.
Really, most dirt on LP's is dust from the air when they were left on the player too long. Skin flakes from humans & animals, tobacco refuse, particles from the wall board. I find pop and gravel noise decreases considerably on used records when I just rinse them with tap water. Premium brands like dynagroove masterworks telearc etc I will give a DI water rinse. Cheapos like Pickwick Specialty Atco or Capitol, they had gravel on them from the factory. I don't bother with the DI water.
Some valuable records have been left under a wastewater leak or perhaps went through a flood. I use dish detergent with the water on these, a couple of drops per side. The kind of dish detergeant without the bleach or lye. In my market this is Palmolive original, not the variety labeled oxy and not the kind that "cuts grease". The original dish detergeant containing lye is Dawn, which I don't use on records.
I don't know isoprophyl alcohol will damage PVC, but I'm not going to try it. Some early fifties bargain brand LP's were shellac on cardboard or something, those are even more fragile. I don't wash those.

Last edited: