Woodworking advice for A75 case

Status
This old topic is closed. If you want to reopen this topic, contact a moderator using the "Report Post" button.
I have been building a pair of Pass/Thagard A75 amps for quite a while now. The project has progresssed to the point to where I am considering the construction of wooden cases for the amps. However I am a beginner at woodwork and I'd like to find a buddie or two with woodworking experience who can provide advice.

The amps (two monoblocks) are build on to two L shaped pieces of MFD which will be slid into wooden jackets and the cases completed with aluminium front and rear panels (in the process of being ordered). These pannels are 630mm high and 230mm wide and so the cases will be (roughly) high (630), narrow (230) and deep (830mm). I want to build in solid oak, to match the room the amps will be in.

My knowledge of woodworking is limited to reading the speaker building articles in audioXpress. I think/realise I will have to join two or more pieces of wood to get pieces wide enough for the panels but do not know how to go about it.

And beyond that I'm at a bit of a loss. I do not know what type of joints to use, or which types are within my capability. I realise that I should try to hide the end grain but do not know how to go about doing it. Even if I cannot build it myself and I find someone to build the cases for me I'd still like to know what to ask for and design the joints first.

If you have wookworking skills as well as audio ones I would welcome your suggestions as to how to build cases for my A75's, to a standard so that the cases on the outside match the quality of what is inside.

Regards,
Neil J Mackie.

Attachments

• connect.gif
    connect.gif
    5.5 KB · Views: 1,376
Thank to the above for their replies and pictures.