Will this work?

Status
This old topic is closed. If you want to reopen this topic, contact a moderator using the "Report Post" button.
sawreyrw said:
keantoken,

Here's some feedback.

1. The article you posted pretty well tells you what you need to do to charge SLAs. The battery will never reach full charge with only 13.8 volts applied, and you still need to limit the current; especially if the battery voltage is very low when the charger is turned on.

There is a current limit. Q1, Q2 and Q3 are actually a CCS, capable of being used as a follower. Q2 and Q3 turn on as the current get to the max and limit Q1's Vbe.

2. I'm not an expert on batteries, but for batteries in the 5 - 10 A Hr range, NiCad may be the next best choice. I believe NiCads require 2 mode chargers for best performance (life).

Thank you. I will look into this.

3. If you don't want to use an automatic dual mode charger, you might consider a manual one, where you manually switch in and out a high current charge circuit that will be in parallel with the 13.8 volt supply.

That sounds like a good idea. How about one that turns on when I close the switch?

4. You need to realize that batteries can put out very large currents under overload conditions and that could cause safety problems. Fuse the battery for safety.

I plan on doing this, just keep forgetting to include it in schematics.

5. Almost all JFETs (not MOSFETs) are depletion mode devices. This means that at Vgs equal zero the device current will be at the maximum (Idss). As you reverse bias the gate (wrt the source) the drain current will decrease (like a vacuum tube). (Thus the FET regulator you posted won't do what you want.)

Okay. I think using a MOSFET here would work, but that is not an option because I would need a larger value resistor, and this would require higher voltage rails.