what preamp for hypex UcD180? DIY or used?

Status
This old topic is closed. If you want to reopen this topic, contact a moderator using the "Report Post" button.
Administrator
Joined 2004
Paid Member
I also have that DIY kit remote control board. It's pretty nice and easy to use. I have the documentation if someone needs it.

To this kit one can add just connectors for a passive pre, or the solid state or tube buffer of your choice for active.

I think the motorized pot is of good, but not world class, quality. It's a 4 channel Alps pot.

Dear all,

finally I come back to you after very long thinking to present my final solution with regards to the preamp. Finally I bought this preamp (Advance Acoustics MPP-206):

http://www.hollandlink.nl/hifi/mpp-206-EN.htm

here you find some nice photos of the product and of the internal part.

I would like some of your thoughts on this choice and hopefully not a stupid one :cannotbe:

Then, being a newbie I would need some clarification from you on the dual mono hypex Ucd 180 that I want to build to be associated to the preamp:

I would need (pls correct me if I am wrong):

2x UcD180HG with HxR' (UcD180HG with premounted high performance HxR-regulators)

1x Push Button (50mA/24V DC contact rating).

1xSoftstart module (1 or 2???)

2xTransformer TR180 (160VA double insulated potted toroidal transformer)

2xUcD signal cable 50cm balanced signal cable with 4-pin connector also providing the enable signal.

and finally

2x XLR3 sockets

4x speaker sockets

I know reading most of the forum that these are really basic and stupid questions but thanks to all who will help me confirming that I dont need anything else and giving me some advise on the preamp (I have some days to return it if it is not good)

Ciao