Using ALSA loopbacks and pipewire?

I'm very new to all this, but so far have successfully created an ALSA loopback to start at boot-up, and have directed CamillaDSP to capture from it. I get a few 'SetSpeed' debug messages, but otherwise cdsp seems to run happily.

However, I was expecting a loopback virtual device to appear in the desktop's sound settings, i.e. as another option to play to. But I still just see the hardware cards. I'm not sure if this is because my expectations are simply incorrect, or if it is because Debian now uses uses pipewire, or something else. So basically I don't even know how to direct audio into the loopback sink.

Before I spend yet more time trying to find my answers, could anyone possibly help to prod me in the right direction?
Thanks!
Kev

I think you misunderstand the ALSA loopback. You are only making its creation possible by putting snd-aloop in modules or using modprobe. When you connect CamillaDSP to one of the create-able pipes, you are only connecting one end of the pipe to something (to CDSP). The other end of the pipe has been created, but is not connected to anything. This is why is does not "appear" anywhere else. It is waiting to be connected to something first, for example you could connect any audio source to it if that source can directly connect to an ALSA device.

The other issue is that when you create the loopback you are (typically) not setting any audio format parameters, e.g. rate and format. If you just connect CDSP to it without specifying these, CDSP gets the default rate and format programmed into ALSA, which is usually 44.1k and 16-bits IIRC. Once the loopback pipe has been connected you cannot change these audio format parameters later on. This means they will be fixed for the duration of the loopback pipe's existence. So make sure you invoke the loopback with which ever parameters you desire right from the beginning.

Reactions: 1 user