update existing TTs or save pennies for a new setup?

Status
This old topic is closed. If you want to reopen this topic, contact a moderator using the "Report Post" button.
I'm no expert on motors, but an incorrect capacitor
value will not affect speed as far as I know.

AFAIK you need two phases 90 degrees apart for a
synchronous motor, and the capacitor is for phase
shifting.
I've read if they are not 90 degrees you get more
vibration, but I don't really know.

Replacing the capacitor/capacitors seems like
a very good idea to me for an old turntable.

:) sreten.

Hi
Don't trow money into sony or pioneer junk turntable. Buy or built a real turntable.
i used to have a "high end" pioneer record player. Lot of tics and pops.
finaly decide to buy a used Oracle Delphi 4. Result: the lp must have to be in really bad shape to hear noise with the music. It's even better than my cdp.
Daniel-a

Thanks Daniel-A, but I can't throw in the towel just yet. I'm tinkerer & learning alot from these decks. I've come to the conclusion that it's worth messing around with these for now as I have nothing to lose if I wreck one of these. Maybe down the road I'll get into a higher end machine.

I will admit that the sony is a bit cheap in some respects (plastic base, not so heavy platter), but I haven't given up on it yet. I am learning quite a bit about setup & tweaking, even with this seemingly cheap deck. If I could find out what the proper compliance rating is (no manual), I could match up a resonably priced pickup. Right now I have a pickering TL-3 for which I do not know the specs, I have no idea if it's right for the arm. Mainly, this deck will be used with the computer for transfers to CD.

The pioneer is a well made deck with a good bearing. If I can get the speed right & get the arm set up well (or swap in a decent arm, Grace 707 or RB250), it should be adequate for my existing system. Again, learning quite a bit from experimenting with this table.