Tweeter Suggestions?

Status
This old topic is closed. If you want to reopen this topic, contact a moderator using the "Report Post" button.
Hi, I'm looking for tweeter suggestions for a 3 way floorstanding set. I plan to use 2 Silver Flute W20RC38-04 ohm 8" Wool Cone drivers and the Dayton audio RS52AN-8 2" Dome Midrange. Any advice or helpful hints to point me in the right direction would be greatly appreciated! I'd like to keep things under 50 dollars a tweeter but can splurge a bit if need be.

Hi,

You could do a lot worse than basing your design on :

Zaph|Audio - ZDT3.5

Why two 4 ohm bass drivers ? Two 8 ohm is usual.

rgds, sreten.

Thanks for taking the time to respond. I'm still new at trying to understand the dynamics of speakers. Thanks for the link, is there anyway I could substitute the Dayton's for the silver flutes? I'm on a limited budget and looking to get the most out of a DIY system and learn about it on the way. The only speaker I'm set on are the Dayton midranges.

Hi,

You could do a lot worse than basing your design on :

Zaph|Audio - ZDT3.5

Why two 4 ohm bass drivers ? Two 8 ohm is usual.

rgds, sreten.

Sreten, thanks for taking the time to respond. I'm still quite new to the idea of DIY speaker building, and my knowledge is still limited. Thanks for providing a link to that wonderful site, is there anyway I could substitute the Dayton for the silver flute and still use the same mid and tweeter? I thought I would wire the 2 silver flute woofers in series to a 8ohm load to match with the mid? The only speaker I'm set on is the Dayton 2in mid that I've purchased. I liked the sensitivity power handling and build quality of the silver flutes and thought they would complement the mids I've already purchased.

IMO the rs52 is blech! Just don't care for it the few times I have heard it. I would rather use a full range type driver with a lower xover point.