Tube testers which is the best?

Status
This old topic is closed. If you want to reopen this topic, contact a moderator using the "Report Post" button.
As soon as the SOFIA was available from Italy in 1996 I snapped it up. Mine was the first one shipped to a US Customer. I am an Electronic Engineer so mine still works (and with my Engineering Salary I could afford it). Kent Leach got the one that Svetlana had here in Cali; mine is DOS his is Windows 3.1. Kent dug up the Schematics for the SOFIA and was kind enough to provide them to me. Its Software provides matching based on the entire set of curves; so it is by far the best investment for improving my Audio. I have tested thousands of tubes on it.

Eleven years ago (!) I replied to this thread that I preferred the Triplett 3444 for regular use. I had read the raves given to the AVO VCM163 by EC8010 and others. A few years ago I found a VCM163 in nice condition. It has replaced my 3444 as my "go to" tube analyzer. It is the easiest to use of my tube analyzers and, being solid state itself, seems to be stable and free of drift. I like how it displays plate current and transconductance simultaneously on its two meters. When comparing and grading tubes of one type, oftentimes low transconductance is found to be due to low plate current. A nudge in the grid bias to restore the specified plate current often restores gm to satisfactory levels. Whether this nudge is useful will depend on how a tube is used in circuit.