• WARNING: Tube/Valve amplifiers use potentially LETHAL HIGH VOLTAGES.
    Building, troubleshooting and testing of these amplifiers should only be
    performed by someone who is thoroughly familiar with
    the safety precautions around high voltages.

Tube phono stage build

Status
This old topic is closed. If you want to reopen this topic, contact a moderator using the "Report Post" button.
Attempting a tube phono stage. Since I am pretty new to building tube circuits, I would welcome some opinions on the circuit that I have chosen. I found this one one online and it seems to be the simplest one I have seen. Appears to be a zero feedback loop design also. How do you all think it will sound? Does anyone recommend any changes or a completely different design?

Attachments

• image.gif
    image.gif
    33.7 KB · Views: 726
Hi, it will work.... BTW it uses a feed back design for the equalization. My biggest issue is the power supply. IMO not nearly enough filtering but then I am pretty well known as being very unhappy with any hum or noise. Generally as a starter project, not too bad. Be careful on the grounding arrangement and layout in general. Both areas can quickly turn a good project into a real "hum dinger":)

Joined 2011
Does anyone recommend any changes or a completely different design?

This type of feedback network has poorly controlled LF gain, so the equalization
below 100Hz will vary significantly with different tubes, and with tube ageing.
The second tube uses what is called "grid leak bias" which some consider
to be a poor design option.

Last edited:
Thanks Bruce. I do agree and plan on beefing up the power supply filters. My biggest concern is the preamp circuit itself, particularly the RIAA eq part. Looks like it uses only 1 resistor and two capacitors, I thought that in simplist form there are two resistors and two capacitors required for RIAA. But maybe I am wrong. Just want to get opinions before I spend the time and money to build.