• WARNING: Tube/Valve amplifiers use potentially LETHAL HIGH VOLTAGES.
    Building, troubleshooting and testing of these amplifiers should only be
    performed by someone who is thoroughly familiar with
    the safety precautions around high voltages.

Tube Clearout

Status
This old topic is closed. If you want to reopen this topic, contact a moderator using the "Report Post" button.
You see the same thing on epay all the time. A guy figures I have 100 tubes, they must be worth a dollar each so expects $100 for them. In reality they are all TV tubes and no one cares...

how much do you expect to pay for a quad of el34s. there must be quite the price range in tubes. some sell for 100 bucks each some say that 150 tubes aint worth 20 bucks. i bought two tv tubes for 5 dollars for a small amp project. they sound great. who sells 140 tubes for 20 dollars?

im new to tubes so im curious about this variation in pricing. i know there is a lot of fraud in the audio industry. cables for 6000 dollars, 1000 dollar 2 foot power cords all a delusion and fraud imho. or super tweeters up to 100khz that only a bat can hear.

Last edited:
how much do you expect to pay for a quad of el34s.
Depends heavily on the tubes. A quad of NOS Mullards is worth far more than a quad of current production Chinese or Russian tubes of the same designation. Adding to the confusion is the fact that many ebay sellers seem to think that any old el34 (or whatever) they have should be priced as if it were something special. They must get some takers, 'cause they're always at it.

Administrator
Joined 2004
Paid Member
There always seems to be someone out there who will pay far too much for what is offered. Ebay works because people are buying things they don't know much about. That and everything is always in good condition and working fine. Right.