Tangband 6 1/2 inch 'sub box designs; sealed and vented

Status
This old topic is closed. If you want to reopen this topic, contact a moderator using the "Report Post" button.
raintalk

Also - what are you using to draw your designs with? Looks like something I could use.

I used AutoCAD. I just exported it as a bmp and then converted it to jpg. I am not an autoCAD pro by anymeans just know some of the basics; enough to be dangerous:D

Cal,

thats good news if thats the case, and thanks for the info on the multi tool. I bought it already. I may just try that box idea of yours. I have to see if I could use unibox and see what pans out just for kicks. It does pr designs right??

Also the beers here are great. The local beer here is called Hairoun and is reputed by most visitors to be quite good. And if you do come you must try our Sunset very strong rum.... the name says it all. I dont need to elaborate:devilr:

Duane

Ok, here's where we're at:

I have the TB along with a Pioneer drone in the lower cabinet (.8 cu ft), with the plate amp.

The MCM 7" and an unknown inverted soft dome in the next compartment (approx 500 cu inches), and the Coral mid in about a 300. The upper two compartments don't go all the way to the back so there's a little breathing room for the woof and drone up the back.
Crossovers are 100, 1000, 10000, all 6dB except the low pass on the plate amp, which I think is 12. No Zobel or notch, just air core and poly.
I am impressed. Not just a proud father kind of thing, this is for real. I am truly surprised at how this sounds. Takes a bit of juice to get 'er going but the overall effect I am really happy about.
When the real cabinets are made, I think I will add about 15 grams of weight to the drones and increase the cabinet to about a 1 cu ft, and fiddle a bit with the XO.
Not bad for a stupid 4 way that I never thought I would dream up let alone do a mock-up. Life is full of surprises.
The picture I took last night before it was wired up.

Cal