• WARNING: Tube/Valve amplifiers use potentially LETHAL HIGH VOLTAGES.
    Building, troubleshooting and testing of these amplifiers should only be
    performed by someone who is thoroughly familiar with
    the safety precautions around high voltages.

Take a look at my transformers

Status
This old topic is closed. If you want to reopen this topic, contact a moderator using the "Report Post" button.
why not try a preamp
its simpler, and cheaper

but please remember this is dangerous voltage

is this your first project ever ?

It's my first amplifier project, but it's not my first project in general. I'm a senior mechanical engineering student, and I also work as a machinist. I know a decent amount about electronics, especially digital stuff, but this would be my first purely analog project.

Note: you cannot use a power transformer as an output transformer in a SE amp. An OPT in a SE amp requires an air gap in its core, something a power transformer doesn't have.

That's true if you use it is in the classical way. However you can still go for a parafeed where you need a choke or a current source to feed the tube anyway.
A good choke can be quite cheaper than a good SE OPT.
For sure it is not as good as a decent OPT in terms of losses and frequency response.

Why are you multiplying by 1.4 to get 525?

When you rectify AC voltage to get DC voltage, you need to multiply the AC voltage by sqrt 2, which is roughly 1.41.

Your transformers are center tapped, so using a full wave center tapped PS (FWCT), will give you no more than 375*1.41=528 for a B+ voltage. You'll need to subtract series resistance losses provided by a resistor or a choke (which you will need for smoothing) to get your final B+ voltage.

Download, install, and play with Duncan Amps Power Supply Designer II (PSUDII). It's easy to use and will quickly help you get a power supply designed.

PSUD2