speaker on off switch

Status
This old topic is closed. If you want to reopen this topic, contact a moderator using the "Report Post" button.
Hi all,

I am planning to make an on/off switch for a pair of remote speaker. The remote speakers are connected to my main amp, that also powers speakers, in my main listening room. My plan is to use one dpst toggle switch, rated for 20 amps and 125 volts ac. I thought I could connect + wires from the amp and + wires to the speakers to the dpst, mount the switch on a box cover, attaching it to an electrical in wall box, where I had a volume control for the remote speakers. All thoughts and recommendations will be greatly appreciated.

Thanks,
henrylrjr

I have been using the amp, for about 10 years, driving up to 3 sets of speakers at the same time. One speaker set was wired to one pair of the amp outputs and the other pair of amp outputs were connected to a Nakamichi RS-730 speaker selector, with options for off, set a, set b or a+b, and never had a problem.

I have been using the amp, for about 10 years, driving up to 3 sets of speakers at the same time. One speaker set was wired to one pair of the amp outputs and the other pair of amp outputs were connected to a Nakamichi RS-730 speaker selector, with options for off, set a, set b or a+b, and never had a problem.
Then your 20 amp SPDT will not be a problem now.
I use a 20 amp SPDT on my deck speakers to turn on when outside, the Technics receiver has no problem with three sets of mains and subs, though my kitchen and deck speakers are 16 ohms, so the amp sees a 4 ohm load.

That said, most decent amps have no problem with 2.7 ohms, as long as they are not passing more than their rated power.

Many amplifiers and speaker selectors put the 'A' and 'B' speakers in series when feeding both. Be careful feeding multiple speakers in parallel. You can cause damage to the amplifier.