Simple Headphone's Amp for beginner

Status
This old topic is closed. If you want to reopen this topic, contact a moderator using the "Report Post" button.
Hi everyone,

I'm new at designing headphone amps, and I wanted to know if someone can help me to do a simple amplifier with a power between 500mW-1W to run 16-32 ohm headphones and maybe a small 8 ohm speaker. I've tried to apply the concepts of higher power amplifier designs such Randy Slone's designs and Bob Cordell's designs, but they have very poor output excursion. I wanted to do something similar to the TDA2822M (single supply and low voltage) in solid state, but with better THD characteristics.

Best regards,
Daniel Almeida

Attachments

• TDA2822M.pdf
    364.1 KB · Views: 243
That's a typical case of the complexity - power - performance triangle. You could gain some linearity by going complementary in the output stage, while losing some output voltage swing on the negative side. You could also implement a CFP output stage in class A (which tends to be very linear, but don't you dare leaving A operation), which is a fair bit more power hungry but would tackle the main source of distortion. Otherwise you could go for a rail-rail output topology, but low-power, high-performance ones tend to be a fair bit more complex and not without their issues either. Finally there's the option of higher-order compensation instead of simple Miller compensation, at the expense of being more tricky to get right.

Last edited:
Hi everyone and thank you very much for your help,

I've made this amplifier with CFP class AB output stage, but the THD characteristics are very poor, I don't know if I can make changes in my design to improve THD characteristics, or if I should go for a more simple class A amplifier as Mooly and Jacques suggested. Can you send me the models for the transistors of your amplifier circuits? Please?

PS: I don't understand this class A amplifier topologies :(
They don't have negative feedback?